Authors are readers too…

            Hello, everyone!  Today’s blog post covers a few books I’ve recently read…

It’s pretty much impossible to be an author without being a reader, too.  I love to see what new genres and interesting plotlines my fellow authors are coming up with.  The indie author community is full of talented and hardworking artists that slave away over the keyboard to bring you tales of romance, wit, wisdom, and fantasy.

I’ve been extremely lucky enough to get two ARCs (Advanced Reader Copies) of books that I’ve enjoyed so much I’d like to share them with you.  Both books are currently available on Amazon.  Please keep in mind that while I received both books for FREE from the authors, I also went out and bought them when I was done reading them and they became available for purchase.  Amazon can be a bit difficult sometimes, and unverified purchase reviews have a habit of being pulled.  In order to try and avoid that scenario, I find it’s easier to buy the book and look legit.

Please also keep in mind that I would NEVER write a blog post reviewing a book that I haven’t read.  You’ve probably become accustomed to me sharing a monthly blog post as part of the Book Boast Newsletter Swap program where I feature author’s books in my newsletter and, in turn, they feature my books in their newsletter.  This is just my way of saying, “Hey…check out these books that you otherwise might not have heard of.”   However, in this case today, I’ve read and thoroughly enjoyed both these books.

Why am bothering to explain all this ad nauseum?   Because I want you to understand that I’m an extremely picky bitch when it comes to books and I would NEVER pretend to like something and say, “this was awesome!” if I really didn’t enjoy the story.

I’ve found that my patience for certain books has greatly diminished since I’ve become a writer.  My writer brain notices a lot more grammar and punctuation issues.   There was one erotic book that I attempted to read last week and couldn’t even enjoy the sex scenes because there were NOT enough commas in the sentences.  I’m a bit paranoid about commas for some reason.

Anyway…back to my original purpose for this blog post… I read two very good books and I’d like to share my reviews with you today.

Book One: 

The Best is Yet to Come by J E Benoit….  $2.99 on Amazon, Free on Kindle Unlimited.

Blurb:   Adaline Reynolds has very little time or desire to worry over her non-existent love life, regardless of what her best friend thinks. Perky Jo’s, the café she inherited from her beloved aunt, has demanded all her time and energy since returning to Little Creek. But that all changes the day a damaged photograph mysteriously shows up at her feet.

When she’s suddenly swept away to find the man in the photo waiting to show her some fun, Adaline’s convinced that she’s finally lost her mind. With no logical explanation for these meetings, she soon finds herself giving in to this charming stranger and feeling more and more like her old, happier self.

As she draws closer to the truth about the man in the photo, will she find who she’s been looking for? Or will she discover that the best is yet to come?

*** The Best is Yet to Come is a STANDALONE contemporary romance with a twist. Due to mild language and sexual situations, this book is intended for readers 17 & up ***

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07322TML5

This is the debut book from J E Benoit.  With a debut author, there’s always a thrill of, “Is this going to be awesome or total crap?”  Let me tell you, it was awesome.  No grammar or punctuation issues in the entire book.  The plot was very original and had a small supernatural aspect.  Now please let me explain this…there are NO vampires or werewolves or ghosts or shifters.  It is a SMALL supernatural aspect of …hmm…I want to tell you but I don’t want to give spoilers.  Let’s just say there was a bit of an influence from the great beyond.  The main character, Adaline is very relatable.  The entire story is told in her Point of View, except for the epilogue.  Adaline’s love interest is very real in the way that he could be anyone off the street that you or I come into contact with.  He’s not your typical alpha male jackass.  What did I like about the book?  It was a very unique idea that was ORIGINAL.  I’m all about finding something NEW that hasn’t been done a million times before.  I liked the suspense aspect of the book and I couldn’t wait to find out what would happen next.  I was pleased to see the characters using PROTECTION when they had sex.  I can honestly say it’s a giant pet peeve of mine when the characters don’t use a condom.  The instant I read a sex scene with no mention of birth control, I inwardly cringe and pretty much predict that there will be an accident in the next few chapters and the main lady will wind up pregnant.  When I read books that I intend on reviewing, I always take notes so I can write a good review.  My notes for this book literally say, “YAY!  SAFE SEX!”  This book was more about “all the feelings” and only had a few sex scenes.

There was also an unexpected twist in chapter 32 that had me tearing up.  Normally books do NOT make me cry, because I’m not a mushy person.  But when something does hit me, it hits me hard.  Obviously I’m not going to say what happens in chapter 32, but it was something I didn’t see coming at all.

While the story didn’t have very much in the way of humor (I’m a sucker for comedy…you know this if you’ve read any of my books), I enjoyed it anyway.  It was a very good, well thought out story.  This was a stand-alone novel and I felt like everything was wrapped up and the epilogue really pulled things together.  Highly recommended!  I can’t wait to see what the author writes next!

Book Two:

Unbent by Wysteria Wilde… $3.99 on Amazon

 Warning: For Mature Adult Audiences 18+.

BLURB: In book three the final installment of What Was Everything: Four years had passed since Annabel LaFrance last saw Nick Bignanni. Four long years of trying to get over him and moving on with her life – the same life he had saved – but the same life he had destroyed, too. She’d been certain that he was The One, and he’d told her he loved her and felt the same way. But he’d been lying to her from the beginning – about everything. He ended up leaving her, and then the unthinkable happened, and he’d been sent away, ultimately choosing to cut off all contact with her. He’d simply shut her out of his life completely. For four long years.

Now, he was back—watching her, waiting for her, wanting to apologize and tell her the truth about everything, promising that he had changed and asked for another chance. She knew trusting him again would not be easy, and there were more disturbing revelations and some additional mountainous obstacles to be overcome if their relationship was ever going to work. And the Universe always seemed to be working against them.

Ultimately, Annabel has to decide if she’s willing to risk giving Nick another chance, which would also mean giving him the power to destroy her once again. She wants nothing more than to put their past away and focus on a future with him. But sometimes that’s easier said than done, especially when they would be facing another uphill battle.

And sometimes, it’s just too late for true love…

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B072MM33R9

This book is the THIRD and final installment in the “What was everything” series.  If you haven’t read the first book, you will probably not fully appreciate the third one because you won’t really be invested in the characters.  Full disclosure…I read the first book, BENT, in February, but I never read the second book in the series because I think it accidentally got deleted from my kindle.  I’m not good with technology.  Let me also say that I read BENT in February, but the characters stuck with me so much that I needed no refresher in preparation for this third book.  Blah Blah Blah…now let’s get to the good part.

Much like J E Benoit, Wysteria Wilde’s books are extremely well written with no grammar or punctuation issues.  This book had altering viewpoints, with different chapters told by different characters.  I really felt like this helped the book flow smoothly from one plot point to the next.  Basically the story is the conclusion of the epic love saga between Nick and Annabel.  But it doesn’t really end there.  Yes, Ms. Wilde does an amazing job of ending their story and the reader really gets the melancholy feel of, “oh no, this is the last I’ll read of these characters!” but I got totally hooked on the supporting characters.  Brooks, Annabel’s gay BFF, really stole the show with his humor and down-to-earth attitude.

In case you were unaware, I’m very much a “root for the hero” kind of girl.  But in this story, I found myself literally falling in love with one of the villains.  I can’t give away his name because I’m all about avoiding the spoilers.  But you’ll know who he is as soon as his character comes into play…because he’s a giant sex-a-holic.  I found myself looking forward to the chapters with his point of view, enjoying his thoughts (and they were STEAMY!), and being a bit disappointed when his time as the narrator was over.  Yes, I wanted MORE of the villain!  That’s how well he was written.

Being an erotic author, I’m ashamed to admit this, but sometimes I skim over sex scenes because they can get to a point where they all sound the name.  Not with my villain boyfriend in this story.  I wanted MORE of him.  If that makes me creepy, so be it!

I also have to mention the suspense aspect of this book.  There were several unanswered plot points in the beginning of the story in order to drawn the reader in and make them question, “Oh… what did the character mean when they said said?  Will it be explained later?”  Normally, I get bored easily and find myself skimming to find the answers to the unanswered questions.  I wanted to skim ahead SO BAD, but I couldn’t in this story.  Why?  Because there was NOTHING boring in it and I couldn’t skim ahead!  I thought, “I’ll skip this part…” but then I got sucked in.  “Okay, I’ll skip the next part…” but it was narrated by my favorite villain hottie so I had to read it.  By the time the story ended, I hadn’t skimmed a damn thing!

I honestly didn’t expect to fall for the characters as hard as I did.  I felt like their story wrapped up nicely and all my questions finally got answers.

Both of these stories were FIVE STAR READS in my opinion.

Thank you for reading my reviews today and please be on the lookout for my blog post next week around July 1st.  Why?  What’s coming next?  I’m taking part in a Science fiction/fantasy book promotion where all the authors involved are giving away FREE stories.  Yes, you read that correctly.  FREE!!!!!!   I have no idea what the other books are because I haven’t got all the details yet.  I promise to make it interesting and not just copy/paste links and blurbs.  What does that mean?  How am I making it interesting?  I have no idea yet, I have a week to figure it out!

Til then, thanks for joining me this week and have a great day!

Grace

Leave a Reply

