I’ve set a new Record!

Did I grab your attention?  Good!  No, don’t get excited that I broke anything in the Guinness Book of Records.  I did, however, break a personal sales record for one day.  Am I bragging?  Heck no.  I just thought I would share a small success story in the hopes of inspiring other indie authors such as myself.

“Get to the good part!” you’re saying.  What did I do and what were my results?  I’m getting there.  Let me first start by explaining that I published my first contemporary romance in January of 2016 and I’ve published three more full length novels since that time.  I struggle every single day to get my name out there and sell books.  On average, I sell one or two books per day.  My previous highest sales day was either 27 books or 34 books.  I should have written it down, but I didn’t.  I’m not much of a numbers girl.  Anyway…March 1, 2017 I sold 67 books in one day and made it to #3 in my category (Humorous Erotic Romance).  I nearly had a heart attack.  I honestly thought Amazon made a huge mistake and I waited for the inevitable email that said they confused me with someone else.  But they didn’t.

 

67 units new record blog post

 

number 3 in my category - blog post

 

Ok.  Now you want to know what I did to get there.  I’m in a lot of Facebook groups with other authors.  I happened to find a random post where another author was looking to set up a March Madness promotion with twenty other authors, offering our books at either FREE or 99 Cents.  I have a book, Mowed, that’s always 99 cents, so I submitted my information to the person running the promotion.  I got accepted.  I shared the promotional post on my blog, and the other 19 authors shared it as well.  I’ve actually done this “newsletter swap” thing a few times before.  Once I sold 9 books and once I sold 14 books.  I was impressed with those results.  I had hoped to also sell a handful of books for the March Madness promotion.  I didn’t sell a handful…I sold 67.  In one day.

Let me clarify that I’m excited every time I sell five books in one day.  To sell 67 and DOUBLE my old sales record…I don’t need to tell you how thrilled I was.  I checked my KDP reports every hour and sat stunned as they kept showing more and more sales.  I skyrocketed to number 3 in my category.  In all honesty, maybe you’re not impressed.  Maybe you are well-known and you sell 67 books every day.  God bless you, my friend.  I do not fare nearly as well as you.  I did, however, spend all day basking in the glory.  I took screen shots every hour.  I walked around with my head held high like I was Stephen King.  I believe I started the day with an author rank in the 100,000s and I ended it with a rank of #4,155.

Did I magically assume I would turn into a best-selling author overnight and that I’d somehow be discovered and whisked off to my new private island?  Absolutely not.  I knew that it was a “one day only” bump and I’d soon plummet back into obscurity.  But it was a hell of an adventure while it lasted.

Did I mention the best part?  It was absolutely FREE for me to sign up for this promotion and I spent NO MONEY at all.  I also received noticeably higher page reads for at least four days after the promotion (Mowed is part of Kindle Unlimited and I get paid for page reads).  I also got a review out of the whole process.  As you are probably well aware, reviews from readers are hard to come by.

So, ladies and gentlemen, I highly recommend signing up for all the Newsletter Swaps you can get your hands on.  In fact, a friend told me about a website devoted to just that:

https://www.newsletterswap.com/

I just joined yesterday, so I can’t tell you how well it’s working yet.  But…it’s free…so…why not?

Thanks for reading and have a great day!  I hope I could be of help to someone.

Grace

Leave a Reply

