What if…?

95% of my stories come into existence all because I asked the question, “What if…?”

“What if I wrote a comedy romance with mafia people?”  MY DIRTY DETOUR

“Why is it snowing so hard?  What if there was a hot guy who got stranded somewhere and his love interest was a girl with a dog?”  NIGHTS IN THE FAST LANE

“What if I wrote erotica?  That seems to sell well.  Obviously it needs humor…” MOWED

“What if I wrote MORE erotica but this time added a paranormal element?”  UNGRANTED WISHES.

Yes, ladies and gentlemen…I asked myself, “What if…?” again last week.  Do you want to know the question?  Of course you do!

I was playing on Amazon and I came across a “short reads” category with story stories that can be read in a certain length of time…15 minutes, 30 minutes, 1 hour, etc.  This caught my eye.  First off, I have no idea how Amazon knows how long it takes someone to read a book.  I am a VERY fast reader and I’m pretty sure I can beat their recommended time length.  But I digress.

I asked myself, “What if I wrote a short story?”

My initial reaction to that question was, “Good luck, buttercup.  You write 158,000 word books.  You have to give EACH secondary character their own backstory.  No way can you write anything with the description “short” in it.  BAHAHAHAHAHA.

I became annoyed at the taunting of myself and accepted the challenge.

But I wasn’t done yet.  Simply writing a short story would be WAY too easy.  I needed to make this a bit more interesting.

What if…I did a post on Facebook randomly asking my Facebook friends to throw out a line of dialogue to be included in the short story?  What if I gave them NO hint as to what this story was about?

So I did that.  And they gave me some hilarious lines to work with.

But I wasn’t done yet.  I needed to make this just a little bit MORE difficult because I’m a glutton for punishment.  So I gave myself a deadline of EXACTLY a week.

You read that correctly.  The idea came into my head on Wednesday, February 1.  It is now Wednesday February 9.

In exactly ONE week, I plotted out, wrote, edited, created a cover, and uploaded to Amazon….

my-dirty-crown-cover

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N2B9Z5I

Synopsis:

They told me to go shopping with them. They were simply making a few quick stops to pick up a birthday present for a friend. No big deal, right?
I should have known better. Nothing with this group ever goes quite as planned. One minute I’m minding my own business, thinking I’m about to have a quiet date night with my boyfriend, but the next thing you know I’m shooting a crossbow and getting involved in the most bizarre beauty pageant I’ve ever seen.
NOTE: This 14,000 word short story tells the tale of one night of adventure when a quirky woman joins her ex-mafia friends for a very memorable experience. This story is set in the “My Dirty Detour” world, however it is not necessary to have read that book in order to understand this story. Please be advised, there is vulgar language. This is a stand-alone story with plenty of humor, crazy characters, and NO cliffhanger.

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!!!!!

On to the next crazy idea….

Grace

 

Leave a Reply

