Authorly Experiment…Does a category change improve Overall Rank?

Hello and welcome to another scientific authorly experiment.  Today we’ll be discussing how your category choices can influence your book’s ranking on Amazon.

I’m all about changing things up in the continual quest for more exposure/sales/readers.  So I decided I would change my categories and see what happened.  I’m a rebellious risk-taker…why not?

What made me undertake this experiment?  I’d be happy to tell you.  Once upon a time, I went to an author takeover in a favorite Facebook Group that I happen to frequent.  Well the author doing the takeover had a book that sounded pretty interesting.  So I went to check it out on Amazon.  It sounded very similar to my first book and it was ranked highly in a very unusual category.  This got me thinking…why don’t I change MY category and see what happened.  The results were pretty darn interesting.

Monday Night, December 19, 7:00 p.m.

Book:  My Dirty Detour

Overall Amazon Rank:  438,864

Category Rank:

2411 in Ebooks -Literature & Fiction – Women’s Fiction – Humor

12240 in Ebooks – Romance – Romantic Comedy

14136 in Books – Romance – Romantic Comedy

So I decided to shake things up.

I changed my categories and went to sleep, wondering what would happen next.  I eagerly woke up this morning to see what damage I’d done.

Tuesday Morning, December 20, 7:00 a.m.

Book: My Dirty Detour

Overall Amazon Rank:  137,597

#479 in Ebooks – Literature and Fiction – Action Adventure  -Women’s Adventure

#625 in Books – Literature and Fiction – Action Adventure – Romance

#1054 in Ebooks – Literature and Fiction, Action Adventure – Romance

How many books/page reads did I have overnight that might have driven up my rank? ZERO sales and 401 page reads.  Nothing so drastic to drive up the rank 300,000 places.

Will this translate to more sales?  I doubt it, since the book is still not anywhere close to the top 100 of any category and it’s about to celebrate its’ one year anniversary next month and is well past the age of a new release.

But it was sure interesting to try, and if it falls further into obscurity I can always switch it back.

What have I learned?  Find obscure categories to get more exposure.

In case you were wondering…my newest release is an Erotic novel and it’s been in the top 100 in its’ category for THREE MONTHS.  Am I amazed?  Absolutely.  Do I have any clue on how to replicate this magic that I’ve worked?  Absolutely not.

It’s been one hell of a ride and I can’t wait to see what happens next!

Have a good day and thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

