Best home-made cleaner ever!

Want to make an awesome household cleaner with items that you probably have around the house?  No problem, I’ve got you covered.

If you have pesky soap scum built up in your shower, or just need to clean a problem area that doesn’t seem to want to shine, try this trick.

Take some blue Dawn dish soap and some vinegar.  You’re going to combine them in equal parts, so figure out how big of an area you’re going to need to clean and measure accordingly.

Microwave the vinegar by itself.  It should be pretty hot.  Be careful NOT to sniff the vinegar after it comes out of the microwave, because it’s going to stink.  I know that vinegar smells absolutely disgusting, but for some reason I feel the need to smell it every single time.  It’s a compulsion, I know.  I can’t help it.  Take it from me: Don’t smell the vinegar.

You’re going to want to get a spray bottle to eventually combine the Dawn and the vinegar.  The mixture is going to be fizzy once you combine it, so BE PREPARED.  My microwave is the in the kitchen (as microwaves usually are) and my bathtub is in the bathroom (as bathtubs usually are), but for some reason I combine the ingredients while still in the kitchen.  I then run screaming all the way to the bathroom while the contents of the spray bottle fizzes and leaks hot smelly vinegar all over my hand.

Those who forget the past are condemned to repeat it — George Santayana

I have yet to follow my own instructions and do it properly.  So please be careful when combining the ingredients.

Once you safely combine the ingredients, spray them on the dirty area that you want cleaned.  Let it sit for a few minutes and then wipe it off.

Viola!  Shiny bathtub.

Good luck and good cleaning!

Leave a Reply

